How To Tie A Butterfly Knot

It occurred to me the other day that I use the butterfly knot very frequently. In truth, it’s one of my favorite knots. I use it for everything from securing a ridgeline for a shelter to making an improvised traction splint to treat a broken femur.

The butterfly knot, or butterfly loop as it is also called, forms a fixed loop along the length of the rope. It will handle tension in all three directions and doesn’t jam very easily. One of the more unique uses of this knot is in isolating a damaged section of rope.

It’s not very difficult to tie, so why not learn this handy knot right now? I’ve colored a piece of the line red to help you keep track of how the knot is tied.

IMG_3071The first thing you need to do is turn the line twice, in the same direction, forming a figure 8.

IMG_3072Now fold the top loop down, behind the rest of the line.

IMG_3073Now pull the red portion of the line up through the center.

butterflyknot001Which should look like this…

IMG_3074Finish the knot by pulling the line taught on both sides.

IMG_3075

And there you have it! There are other ways to tie this, but this is the way that I’m most familiar with.

6 responses to “How To Tie A Butterfly Knot

  1. Pingback: How To Build A Noose Stick | Survivor Medic·

  2. Pingback: How To Make A Glowstick Alarm | Survivor Medic·

  3. I had never known this knots true name, I was just taught it as a kid by my Dad as the twist and flip knot. Used it all the time to put a loop in a line for quickly tieing a boat line to a pier hook and while camping like for fly lines over a stake.

  4. Also often called the “alpine butterfly”. Quite useful, though I tie it differently then shown here.
    The only thing to remember is that if it’s part of a moving system, you will have to “pass” the knot at some point.

  5. Pingback: How To Tie A Butterfly Knot » Staying Prepared·

Leave a comment